

## **LPA Officers**

Dennis Brown (President) Sarah Bishop (Vice President) Mike Delaney (Secretary) Ernie Eck (Co-Treasurer) Dale Slusser (Co-Treasurer)

## LPA Board

Sarah Bell Travis Campbell Amanda Davis Chris Millspaugh Ifeloju Olusanya Jan Shupert-Arick Verdell Taylor, Jr. Patrick Watkins

Emeriti Board Members Dennis Domer Marci Francisco Douglas A. Girod, M.D. Chancellor University of Kansas 230 Strong Hall 1450 Jayhawk Blvd. Lawrence, KS 66045

August 8, 2022

## Re: Demolition of the University of Kansas Facilities Administration Building

Dear Chancellor Girod,

Thank you for your letter of July 19<sup>th</sup> responding to ours of July 13<sup>th</sup>. Representatives of the Lawrence Preservation Alliance, Lawrence Modern, a local group with a particular interest in mid-century modern design, and Historic Mt. Oread Friends, a group dedicated to protecting KU's historic resources and celebrating its history, would very much appreciate the opportunity to engage in further discussion with your staff on the issue of the identification of buildings that may be demolished and the process for evaluating possible feasible and prudent alternatives. Please let us know who on your staff we should reach out to or ask him/her to contact me or LPA board member Mike Delaney. Mike's telephone number is (913) 515-3368.

Respectfully,

Lawrence Preservation Alliance, by

Dennis Brown, President

Oluming Brown

Cc: Tom Harper, Lawrence Modern Dale Slusser, Historic Mt. Oread Friends